Thoughts on: Essay Progress

by Beauchamp Art

I have written a reasonable, well research 1000 words this weekend, covering a range of issues (such as memes , online display, and audience) relating some of my recent work, and wider sociological concerns. However, there is probably only 25% of that that could potentially be useful, or transposed into the essay I need to complete for this term, despite of its apparent academic style. However, much of it is more concerned with linguistics than art, and I have not included much of my wider research, but rather a smaller group of articles, though I still have room to evidence these, I still feel that what I am writing would not suffice as the best example of critical writing that I could accomplish for this unit.

I am comfortable with writing in a formal way, but having to select a single example of text around a focused theme causes me to be more hesitant. And as a result, I am not producing an essay, but procrastinating with annotations – nevertheless, these do serve as an effective means of practising my writing and furthering my research, I still am filled with a lingering dread that what I am doing is of no real benefit.

I could look at it plainly; examine the Learning Objectives, find two relevant artistic examples, compare them with supporting research, and reach a clear conclusion. I could refer to Michael Wolfe’s A Series of Unfortunate Events photographs from Google Street View, and Paul Sharits’ Bad Burns (though that is from the 1980s, and given the rate of change in art, is 30 years ago still Contemporary?) Ideally, I would then use Seurat’s  A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte as a more historical example, compare pointillism to pixels; verisimilitude and the medium with quotes from The Language of the New Media, Understanding Media, Cybercultural Theorists, Bending the Frame, and a whole host of articles. But then that opens up the discussion of distribution, memes and audience, which is such a big topic in itself, I am tentative about glancing over it.

2000 words is not a lot, and requires focus, I do not want to crow-bar two essays together to make an hollow amalgamation of the two. Nor should I pick at the corpses of previous writing and make a Frankenstein’s monster of an essay, it will tear at the seems and be awfully messy. I also have to be wary of the use of satire in writing as it has to remain critical and not undermine itself by attempting to be humorous or overly-clever. I just need to write a clean cut essay, nothing too complex. I can write more freely elsewhere.

 

(I may not have written a dissertation, or the essay, but I have written over 7000 words of annotations this term, there’s probably enough there that I could salvage.)

