Weekly Summary: 31.5.15 – 5.6.15

by Beauchamp Art

Neon Post-It

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

[Thomas, 1953]


 

Since I received an extension to the deadline, due to the SU campaign, this has been my final week on the course, so it has been highly productive, resulting in a sizeable amount of written work being complete that had been left in note form. This has involved redrafting the critical evaluation, sorting through annotations, including writing 9.5K on event photography (though it will not be read it had to be written), along with organising my research, and organising papers, sketches, and all non digital materials; before finally transferring everything to my external hard drive for submission. After some final discussion with Anna Bird from the NUA gallery and my tutor Victoria, I have concluded to leave the benches until after my hand in, but I still intend to use them in the degree when it is opened for the public, so will look to install them around the 15th of June.

Audio- Choose Life, Choose Newscorp cover

The role of pop cultural references (such as the numerous references to Trainspotting, and a range of songs) and politics (taking ideas from news papers, radio discussions, ) has played an increasing role in my work as it has emerged and developed over the paste few months. Alongside this, a key recurring theme (and quotation) for this project has been the examination of processes that turn “society into what [James] Joyce called an “allnights newsery reel,” that substitutes a “reel” world for reality” [McLuhan, 1964: 193]. This last week I have been the allnights worker, reeling of lines of text like a printing press gone haywire, and in that it could be argued that I have come to embody some semblance of my output, and in doing so creating feedback. But like a Catherine Wheel, this loop creates sparks, flying off from all tangents, some fizzling out, other starting great blazes that roar and rave into the night. And so I go, but I do not go gentle.


 

Feign Support for an Honest Cause

 

 

 


Put Your Hands in the Air and Wave Them Like You Just Don’t Care - Dancing in Peckham, Girl with Ball, Brontosaurus

 

Wave goodbye, to what you were. The rules have changed, the lines begin to blur.

 


 

Reference:

McLuhan, Marshall (1964) Understanding Media. 1994 Edition. Routledge. Great Britain.
Thomas, Dylan. (1952) Do not go gentle into that good night. The Poems of Dylan Thomas. New Directions. Cited on Poets.Org <http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/do-not-go-gentle-good-night&gt; Accessed 20.5.2015

