Weekly Summary: 6.7.15 – 12.7.15

by Beauchamp Art

Degree Show Install - II - TFHDR - 18

The Graduation ceremony took place this week, a momentous occasion where nothing happens for several hours in a room intoxicated by the presence of be-cloaked graduates and parents kept awake exclusively by the discomfort of the chairs and repeated drill of applause to the various names percussive punctuating the event. I shook John Hurt and Carl Rowe’s hands on the stage with my grandfather’s pipe securely clamped in my jaw, with some cheer, bypassing the photographic instinct to implement the meme of the moment more fastidiously into the collective conscious than through the distribution of imagery through online social media. Dodging opportunities for straight-faced social photograph is always a concern.

HVGS Installation Autoportrait - 03

We were dismantling the degree show installation and returning equipment this week, which thankfully did not take too long, so I used the opportunity prior to dismantling it to take a number of photos of the set up from a greater variety of angles to explore the aesthetic qualities of the work over the documentary photos taken previous, including a small collection of self-portraits besides the various screens.

Degree Show Install - II - Jacket - 01

Receiving my feedback from Victoria involved discussing the state of the project I presented as well as the degree show installation, as well as my plans for the future, such as the possibility of further study, with a suggestion to look into another potentially of interest MA, in Global Media & Communication at Warwick University. On this note, I also was working on my application for the Archivist Assistant job at the Lisson Gallery in London, which would be a fantastic opportunity and the daily commute would not be too strenuous as it would give me time to read and relax on the train to and from, so I have been contemplating the more interesting possibility of the position.

I also did some more digital painting and some light-hearted photomanipulation and attended a graduate MA exhibition at Stew.

Exorcist

